The American House was built in 1876, destroyed by fire in 1895 and rebuilt out of brick in 1895. For many years it was a popular stop for train conductors and employees. Of the four hotels that were in Alburtis at one time, it is the only one that still remains.
Now renamed The Alburtis Tavern and Lodge it is located at the corner of Front and Main Streets. This landmark of the community has been revitalized to its glory days by proprietors, Hope and Terry Bender. The Alburtis Tavern boasts 12 updated, state-of-the-art rooms for travelers as well as a restaurant for the community. Come see what everybody is talking about!